• Sep 27th, 2009 12:14 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Nov 17, 2006
182 posts
25 upvotes

backyard ice rink

I've never built a backyard rink before, and am looking for good info on all the steps required and tools(ie wood,tarp) as it will be my first attempt

if some one could help me out I would appreciate it

thanks in advance

(area of about 15W x 20L)
p.s-can I place the frame of the rink over my stone patio, or does it have to be done over grass
15 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 16, 2008
7799 posts
207 upvotes
check out Home Depot's website..they used to have a DIY guide to building these...or try Hockey Night in Canada's website...
Deal Fanatic
Jan 16, 2008
7799 posts
207 upvotes
forgot to mention...costco.ca has a kit you can get...$60 off, but expires today.
Deal Addict
Sep 19, 2005
2838 posts
48 upvotes
Built my own for a few yrs when kids were young,,,,,, I got a 24x48+ tarp grey or white from ebay for like $25 (depends on your yard),,, then bought enought 2x6 or 8 to frame it. (Sometimes you can get the wood from construction site scraps) Lay tarp out,,, fram the rink and attached tarp to top of wood framing,,,, then filled it in the cold evenings and had a amazing hockey rink.
Deal Addict
Oct 12, 2001
3613 posts
92 upvotes
Ur kidding, right? We used to just have a level patch of ground and start hosing it down, night after night. Building a simple rink is the stuff of stories for years to come.

It doesn't have to look like the YEG rink to enjoy it. Yes we had to dig our pucks our of the snow bank, but we had fun.
What the H E double hockey sticks have I done now?
Deal Addict
Oct 12, 2007
3924 posts
1231 upvotes
Ottawa
LeonPhelps wrote: Does anyone know of any companies that will actually build the rink for you ?