Careers

Is becoming an Auto Mechanic a good career choice???

• Last Updated:
  • May 27th, 2007 9:19 pm
Tags:
None
Banned
May 22, 2007
82 posts

i've been told at first it's really rough and your treated pretty bad as an apprentice, i've worked on cars all throughout high school and even worked at a Lube place where I had a bad experience

is it a good career choice? is anyone here an Auto Mechanic?
14 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 30, 2002
1025 posts
OTTAWA
yes, open your own garage once you are familiar with what you are doing. A lot of mechanics become millionaire this way.
:: My Heatware ::
8452 posts
7 upvotes
I'd say yes, if you enjoy it
People who are in my gang: Nikita, Spidey, weedb0y, jcoltage, deep, pitz, Sylvestre, Icedawn, 3weddings, Ambermoon, CSK'sMom, jazzsax, bokep, matdwyer, Dash, KorruptioN, angekfire, sxz, WontonTiger, YYZFA, king_george, 45ED, sxz, Ojam

*WE GONNA GIT YOU!
May 13, 2006
442 posts
Toronto
As long as you don't become one of those dirtbags that cheats its customers

Subaru Mechanics cost $80/hr not sure how much goes into their pocket

But if u open up your own garage, be prepared for a slow start while you build up your rep.

If you make it big, make sure to give your RFD community a discount :-0
Deal Fanatic
Sep 10, 2002
5526 posts
83 upvotes
Vancouver
I use to work in a shop part time. The owner's story is much like most mech's, they all started off in some crappy little shop. Learned the trade..LOTS OF HARD WORK. Now he owns a mech shop, body shop, and paint shop. He never advertises and only open mon-fri (not weekends) because he can. He knows he's good at what he does and so does all his clients.