Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Jul 13, 2012
1751 posts
135 upvotes
Ottawa

Becoming a plumber in Ontario.

Ok, here's my situation. I am a 28 year old Ontario resident with a degree in basket weaving. Unfortunately, I have not had much success in finding a career-type job; for the past few years I've had an office job but don't see any possibility of advancement.

Recently, I have been looking at the skilled trades, particularly plumbing. I've been looking through the process, and have a few questions::

1) Would plumbing companies be willing to hire me even though I am older than the typical applicant (28 vs someone who is 20 or 21)?

2) Would the fact that I don't have any experience in that line of work or related work matter?

3) Would the fact I have a degree be held against me? I am actually interested in doing trades work, but I don't want employers to think I will leave as soon as a basket weaving job opens up.

4) Would I need to buy or lease a car to start? IWhat other initial costs (tools, etc) can I expect?

Any advice would be appreciated.
7 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 14, 2012
1377 posts
170 upvotes
AB
1) Yes
2) I won't sugar coat it, you want to be mechanically inclined to be a good plumber and it does help to have some kind of construction background. Loading tools, taking measurements, reading from blueprints, installing things to spec. It's not required. All that's required is you can convince someone to take you on as an apprentice, whether it's big union or small independent contractor or any company in between. Some type of related background in the trades would help. But required? No.