• Jul 12th, 2019 4:09 pm
[OP]
Feb 12, 2008
149 posts
13 upvotes
Toronto

Bed frame - what kind of wood is this?

Hi,

I am planning to build a bed frame similar to the one showed on the following web page. However, I am struggling with a few things.

1. I am not sure what kind of lumber /plywood is being used for the sides, foot and the headboard of the bed? Would I get this material in a Home Depot?
2. The screw that attaches the headboard to the sides - What kind of arrangement is this?
3. What are the metal pieces that hold the slats called?

DIY-Bed-Frame-with-Storage-Ideas.jpg
https://soifer.miv-mountloretto.org/the ... age-ideas/

Thanks
---------------------------------
Almost all problems in our lives can be traced back to a lack of knowledge.
4 replies
Sep 5, 2011
283 posts
209 upvotes
MISSISSAUGA
Sounds like you are a complete newbie to woodworking...Maybe you should attempt something a little less challenging before jumping onto this project because there is nothing kills the mood more than a squeaking bed LOL.

There are many ways to make this exact bed with different materials. You don't have to replicate it to exact specs.

From looking at the picture...I would guess:
  • MDF boards for most of the construction and painted them white. Personally, I would use real Baltic Birch for this project.
  • Real solid wood (looks like maple) for the drawer front.
  • 1x4 materials for the slats
  • Simple angle iron for the slat rails but you can just use a piece of wood here too to save money.
  • The drawers doesn't seem to be on any kind of slider or anything so that would means they used some cheap small wheels at the bottom of each drawers.