Entrepreneurship & Small Business

BEGINNER HERE: Questions on New Business that Involves Import from China

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 29th, 2018 2:53 pm
Jul 28, 2018
7 posts

BEGINNER HERE: Questions on New Business that Involves Import from China

Hello all,

I'm planning on starting a new business providing supplies to local retailers. Below is a brief explanation of what I'm trying to do and some questions. Would very much appreciate some business advice if possible.

I've received requests from some local businesses to source items they use regularly. I have manufacturers ready to produce them. My plan is to manufacture, ship them to Canada by sea freight and to a warehouse, from which I plan to deliver to the business.

1. BUSINESS TYPE: Given the potential liability issues involved, and the fact that I would need to register an import/export account number - my plan was to register a provincial corporation. Should I be considering registering federally as well?

2. WAREHOUSE/STORAGE: Upon arrival of goods in Toronto and Ottawa, I was planning on putting the boxes in a spare room in my apartment. However, being on the 12th floor doesn't make this the most efficient solution by any means. Otherwise, I was planning on renting a local storage unit in both cities to hold the inventory. Is there a more cost effective method that I can use to hold the inventory upon arrival in my city, from which I can access and deliver to customers?

3. PAYMENT: Do I collect payment up-front or upon delivery of shipment to the business? If so, what are the type of payment methods that I should accept? In terms of timing, my worry is paying for the whole process and getting stuck with the inventory in the end if they decide against it.