Beginner's cam

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 30th, 2016 2:14 am
Tags:
Nov 5, 2014
322 posts
169 upvotes

Beginner's cam

Beginner here and looking for my first (used) camera. I found a T3i + 18-55 kit with 1800 shutter counts for 350.

Should I get the T3i or a D3100 with 5627 shitter count?

There is also a used D3200 with 10k shutter count that is selling for 400. I've been researching for about 4 months now and these three are within budget

Should I buy one now or should I just wait for boxing day deals?
9 replies
Jul 12, 2010
498 posts
89 upvotes
Under 10k shutter they are all basically low use. so probably won't use that as a deciding factor. I would recommend you first choose the system you want. So Nikon or Canon camp hehe even though it is your first camera, if you plan on expanding your lens in the future you basically locking yourself in. (sure you can resell for a loss and switch)

just some general opinions - Nikon got better quality sensors and better high ISO performance - while canon tends to be better for video(touchscreen and pops out) and has a more natural skin colour reproduction/ green.
Both are great resale value/ resale market supply is decent - Canon tends to have more selection in used market/supply so its easier to wheel and deal and get a better used price.

Since your budget seems low like 300-500 I would stick with the used market and not wait for boxing day deals since the only stuff that is in that range sucks like the T5/T6 type of stuff I assume. Better bang for buck just going used, just make sure it works and is in great condition (which isn't hard since alot of ppl buy BNIB beginner cameras and decide it's not for them and collects dust)