Being terminated, need advice

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 16th, 2017 6:33 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Aug 9, 2017
4 posts

Being terminated, need advice

Okay, here goes! I've been working for the same company for over 10 years and they will terminate my employment within the next couple of days - that is a given. I have a lot of questions, and I'm kind of shell shocked (and embarrassed) right now, so I'm trying to prepare for the meeting when it happens as well as look for alternative employment as soon as possible.

I'm looking at a few websites explaining severance and termination, but if there are any websites that can be recommended, that would be appreciated.

First few questions:
If I'm terminated, are they required to pay both severance and termination pay?

I read on a website that an employee is entitled to severance pay if employed more than 5 years AND the employer has a payroll of at least $2.5 million, which I have no way of knowing for sure, but I highly doubt they have payroll of at least $2.5 million. Does this mean that I'm not entitled to severance pay?

Also, I read this: 'it is the employer’s option of whether to provide working notice or termination pay'. So they could tell me I have 8 weeks notice, so no termination pay?

If I'm given written/working notice of termination for 8 weeks (since I've been employed there for over 10 years), should I stay for those 8 weeks?
Related question: If I resign, giving two weeks notice, I am not entitled to severance pay, is that correct? I ask this question, because I will be too embarrassed to show up at the office after being served a termination notice.

Any help, words of advice, steps to take, are welcome. I'll update this post with more questions as they come to me, as well as what happens in regards to 'the meeting'.

Thanks!
39 replies
Jan 10, 2017
204 posts
89 upvotes
cmaatos wrote:
Aug 10th, 2017 6:10 pm