Automotive

Locked: Belligerent cyclists - Stories? Experiences? Was I wrong?

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 4th, 2012 1:20 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Oct 1, 2011
6337 posts
1483 upvotes

Belligerent cyclists - Stories? Experiences? Was I wrong?

Today I got into a yelling match with a cyclist. I have never done this before, with anyone.

I was driving slowly down Parliament in Cabbagetown, fairly close to the parked cars on the single-lane per direction road without thinking because I was looking for a parking spot in an unfamiliar place. This 30's-looking hipster geek chick on a bike actually told me as she was passing by that I should learn to not block cyclists or something. I seriously didn't see her and she must have come from a side road because before I got to the vicinity of my stop, I was driving normally and I usually check around, especially in areas where cyclists are common. Being a regular bike rider myself has made me generally paranoid and on the watch for them.

Anyway, I was pissed at her rudeness so I drove a little further past the coffee shop I was looking for and said "listen b**** don't preach at me on your s***** $50 bike" and parked in my spot.

She actually got off her bike and walked towards me so I knew this was going to be fun. Well she didn't get too close but I was going to stay for a while in case she tried to vandalize my Binky (my car's name). She told me that if I was going to drive I should share the road and drive well. I said "Well excuse me, even if I am a bad driver get over it, move on and just be thankful you're not hurt but starting s*** with me is rude. Then she said I'm the rude one because I should be apologizing. Then I said, "Excuse me, do you even drive? Can you even afford a car with your $50 bike?" Nope, she did not retort that she does drive. For the rest of the time I made wahwahwah noises and flapped my hand like you do when someone is saying things you don't care about and after a while she walked off.