• Last Updated:
  • Feb 28th, 2010 3:16 am
[OP]
Mar 8, 2007
73 posts
7 upvotes

Best car rental deals for underage drivers

Hello everyone!

Alright! I have to admit that I am not a frequent poster on rfd but I do come back to this website every now and then looking for a deal :D

I've been checking out car rental threads on rfd and noticed that deals posted usually assume that renters are over 25 or so. I think an official car rental thread for "underage" drivers is necessary as am sure that a fair number of readers here are under 25.

I'm under 25 and am interested in knowing what the best deals are that the other "underage" drivers have been getting.

I'll start with myself, being a university student I usually get the underage fee waived with avis and hertz. I personally prefer hertz since they offer 50% off weekend rentals and are usually cheaper than avis. The problem is that the hertz branch in my town is closed leaving me with no other options but to rent from avis :( .

Any other underage drivers can contribute some information as to the best deal they can find? As far as I know, all other car rentals charge the underage fee and there is no way to waive it (correct me if am wrong).

Any help would be appreciated! :cheesygri
8 replies
Deal Guru
May 14, 2007
14300 posts
1060 upvotes
Scarborough
this might be in the wrong forum i think...

edit:before i posted it was in hot deals..
Deal Fanatic
Nov 23, 2005
7794 posts
3665 upvotes
Discount should rent it to you as well but there is a $10 daily fee .. no way around it.
May 11, 2008
21 posts
2 upvotes
Ottawa
I know Enterprise is supposed to charge a 10$ a day extra, but I haven't had to pay it on multiple occasions at the Enterprise on Merivale in Ottawa. YMMV though.
[OP]
Mar 8, 2007
73 posts
7 upvotes
hey guys thanks for the replies so far
boyoflondon wrote:
Mar 24th, 2009 12:30 am
Discount should rent it to you as well but there is a $10 daily fee .. no way around it.