Careers

Best CPA PEP study material/strategies for Core 1, Core 2, Electives?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 4th, 2019 9:39 am
Aug 12, 2016
269 posts
67 upvotes

Best CPA PEP study material/strategies for Core 1, Core 2, Electives?

For Core 1, i want to ask people what are the best notes especially for Financial reporting where you have to remember and memorize the ASPE, IFRS stuff. The problem i faced the last time i studied for Core 1 was struggling to memorize everything on financial reporting due to which i was having problems with applying them on case studies and MCQ's. My back Sciatica problem also flared up due to which i failed to withdraw from the exam on time and now have been charged a module attempt.

For Core 2, what are the best notes for Managerial Accounting.

My problem is i spent so much time memorizing all the technical and very little time practicing MCQ's and Cases as i fear without knowing the technical stuff it is impossible to do the cases and the MCQ's.

Is it possible to clear the PEP exams without relying heavily on all the materials from Densmore, PASS, Prepformula?

Based on my observation Prepformula notes were the worst but they had the most questions. PASS notes were not all that organized, Densmore notes were pretty neatly organized. I also wanted to ask whether relying on the Oracle notes is sufficient?

Would like some good feedback as i am determined to clear the CPA PEP exams asap now and don't want to waste any more time.
9 replies
Deal Addict
May 23, 2010
1755 posts
258 upvotes
Ontario
Practising the cases and MCQ timed and debriefing them properly are key. Make sure you do the mock exams especially for electives. HTK Consulting has good free notes but tax stuff are kind of outdated. It's challenging to memorize IFRS ASPE and ASNPO but I used a mix of a colleague's summary notes and some of Densmore competency map notes. I found prepformula webinar summary slides a bit helpful actually.