• Jun 16th, 2013 6:03 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Dec 28, 2012
47 posts
2 upvotes
Waterloo
Thanks so much for the replies guys! Looking at all these TFSA through banks are providing an "OK" rate. I won't be making anything due to inflation. So I'm willing to risk a little bit to get a higher ROI. Any other suggestions?

Stocks are an option... but the risk is high as I have no experience in investing in the market.
Deal Addict
Feb 22, 2013
2028 posts
172 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
KushGandhi wrote:
May 29th, 2013 10:54 am
Thanks so much for the replies guys! Looking at all these TFSA through banks are providing an "OK" rate. I won't be making anything due to inflation. So I'm willing to risk a little bit to get a higher ROI. Any other suggestions?

Stocks are an option... but the risk is high as I have no experience in investing in the market.
A Bond Index Fund is a relatively safe investment in the market, although clearly more risky than savings accounts or GICs. If that's the route you'd like to take I suggest the TD Canadian Bond Index e-Series (https://www.tdassetmanagement.com/stats ... DB909E.pdf). YTD performance is up 0.13%, but the average annualized return is over 8%.

Or you could look into a monthly income fund (also low risk). For example: https://www.tdassetmanagement.com/stats ... DB622E.pdf. YTD performance is up 3.9%.

If neither of these options are acceptable to you, I would suggest creating a balanced portfolio of TD e-Series index funds (http://canadiancouchpotato.com/model-portfolios/). Short of randomly picking winning and losing stocks, a balanced portfolio will offer you the best chances of making a greater return than savings accounts rates.
Deal Addict
Sep 1, 2007
3687 posts
282 upvotes
Markham
LOL this is why you don't ask questions or ask for advice on online forums

You can't be serious
coachpotatoarmchairQB wrote:
May 29th, 2013 12:14 am