Credit Cards

BMO World Elite Mastercard - Devaluation May 5th, No Plaza Premium access July 1st

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 17th, 2023 12:51 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Feb 9, 2013
1912 posts
1314 upvotes
Mississauga
To use the 4PP, do you need to book your trip with BMO WE?
Mar 23, 2004
47725 posts
13890 upvotes
Markham
So I just called in to downgrade the WE to the regular rewards card. The rep didn't say/ask anything until I ask about the prorated refund of the annual fee. He then asked me why I was downgrading as i have been using the card since 2014, and I told him it's because of the devaluation. He then offered me to refund the annual fee for this year which I accepted. Guess I will keep it to use for meals/travel/entertainment. The 2.14% travel cb is still good (not to mention i still have a LOAD of points) and the 4 passes never hurt. And I will still be able to use Android Pay.

I will have a 4 card setup now: Restaurants/Travel/Entertainment - BMO RWE (2.14% Travel CB), Gas/Groceries/Recurring - TD CB Infinite (3% CB), Foreign stuff - Rogers CB (1.50% Net CB), Everything else - MBNA RWE (2% CB).
jdu0ng wrote: To use the 4PP, do you need to book your trip with BMO WE?
No.
Deal Addict
Nov 3, 2009
1922 posts
1195 upvotes
Calgary
forexnut wrote: The only thing I'm giving up is trip cancellation, and PP. The Amex Cobalt can be used at my local Metro, or Sobeys, can buy a gift card (5%) or prepaid Paypower MC (still net 3.6% after fee). With a little leg work, this is FAR better yield than the BMO WE would give me even at the old 2%. And I'm saving the $25 supplementary card fee that BMO WE charges and I can waive the Roger Platinum annual fee by adding autopay to my Fido bill.