Deal Fanatic
Jan 27, 2005
5766 posts
75 upvotes
Richmond Hill
Keep us up to date with your results, i'd be curious to see how it comes out
fatestkid wrote:
Dec 17th, 2012 8:10 pm
I am not an expert, and I am currently building my first screen. This is also my first projector. Below I am including as many useful links as I found on my 3 weeks of researching DIY screen. If your screen is less than 120" than you have a lot of choices such spandax, black out cloth, thrifty white board, sintra/komatex. If you want bigger than drywall is one of very few solutions and the most economical. That is what I am going for.

Beginners guide to DIY screen

DIY paint #1 RS-MaxxMudd V.2 Mix

DIY paint #2 Silver fire V2.0

Stretched fabric screen

Dry wall preparation

Basic rolling skills

Two roller technique

Thrifty white board screen

Screen Size Calculator
Deal Addict
Mar 21, 2010
2780 posts
590 upvotes
nfnx wrote:
Dec 17th, 2012 10:12 pm
Keep us up to date with your results, i'd be curious to see how it comes out
Here is my build thread. Focus on the first post as I keep updating it, the rest got a bit derailed. Just did the first coat of white paint today just to get some practice and have a nice base before I mix up the $150 DIY paint.
Deal Fanatic
May 1, 2003
6372 posts
142 upvotes
fatestkid wrote:
Dec 17th, 2012 8:10 pm
I am not an expert, and I am currently building my first screen. This is also my first projector. Below I am including as many useful links as I found on my 3 weeks of researching DIY screen. If your screen is less than 120" than you have a lot of choices such spandax, black out cloth, thrifty white board, sintra/komatex. If you want bigger than drywall is one of very few solutions and the most economical. That is what I am going for.
You forgot Laminate. Its actually quite easy to build one from this stuff. There are some good DIY laminate threads around too: