Parenting & Family

Boy is turning 1 yr - Throwing Party - Recommend balloon twister, bubble maker, face painter?

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 23rd, 2016 8:26 pm
[OP]
Jul 25, 2008
857 posts
279 upvotes
Toronto

Boy is turning 1 yr - Throwing Party - Recommend balloon twister, bubble maker, face painter?

My baby boy is turning 1 in December and I'll be renting a community center for the party with about 50-75 guests. He will probably be one of youngest so I'm looking for entertainment to keep the toddlers and other kids and parents happy. I love throwing parties and i don't really have a budget. I'm already hiring Hands on Exotics for an hour and would like to hire possibly a balloon artist, face painter or some bubble artist (if that's a thing?).

I've never done this before and a lot of them don't seem to post their rates, could someone give me an idea of what their rates would be, and also other fun ideas for a 1 year old birthday party that caters to kids from 1yr of age to 10 yrs of age. Any recommendations for some companies or artists would be great too!

No clowns suggestions though - they creep me out.
10 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 27, 2007
5033 posts
917 upvotes
Peterborough
Just say no to balloons. Lots of breakage and toddlers and infants around dont mix. Broken balloon fragments are very difficult to remove from throats. Ask any ems responder. Very high choking hazard. Perhaps the highest.

Id go with a face painter.

Another choice would be a small bouncy castle or two if they can fit in the room you rented.
Deal Guru
Mar 31, 2008
10597 posts
1668 upvotes
Toronto
I don't know about renting a bouncy castle in a community center. They might have rules, etc. And think of set up time and take down. For young kids, just get washable crayons and large paper or colouring books. Toddlers love those. As for kids up to 10, have no idea. That rental site looks good. I find kids that age just love to run around and stuff.
[OP]
Jul 25, 2008
857 posts
279 upvotes
Toronto