Personal Finance

Brand New to Personal Finance - What do?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 28th, 2018 1:13 pm
[OP]
Sep 26, 2016
3 posts

Brand New to Personal Finance - What do?

Hi everyone,

For all intents and purposes - let's say I'm brand new to personal finance. I'm 28 years old (going on 29), and have managed to reduce my student loans (double degree STEM) to $5.8K and have just north of $5K in my savings account, a car, and I'm renting. No debt otherwise. A few years ago, I ended up spending $40K on a business idea that I then abandoned due to unforeseen circumstances. I'm using YNAB to baseline my budget for the last year. I'm a data-driven guy. Historically, I've hopped from industry to industry in order to find out where my skill and passions are. I finally found it. Also, I hate having debt of any kind.

I'm working in sales, making $57.5K base, and commissions are just starting to kick in. I'm expecting to hit $100K by 30. I budgeted based on my lifestyle (which is quite minimalist) and have only one credit card that I RARELY use: PC Financial MasterCard. Banking with Simplii. In addition, we've started a sales consulting firm, and have a handful of clients - so things are picking up financially. I'll be moving into a new place with my girlfriend, so that's an additional $1.1K per month I can put towards some kind of investing.

I've never considered something like a cash-back credit card/even using the credit card to generate some benefits. I know very little about stocks, or RRSPS, Dividends etc. Where do you all recommend I get started?

My thoughts are currently: read the go-to investment books, perhaps find a course or mentor....I'm all ears. I've read some books that are US-specific, but Canada's a little bit different.