• Feb 20th, 2011 4:47 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Feb 18, 2011
3 posts
Quebec Trois-Riviere…

Buying books online in Canada

Hello, I'm new to the forums, although I've been lurking for a long time.

I was wondering if there was any decent online bookstores in Canada other than Amazon, I've had a pretty bad experience where Amazon decided it would be clever to ship my things with UPS, and I had to walk for 4 hours to get my parcel and come back home(I'm a college student, no car) since UPS gave me 0 support and refused to arrange a delivery time where I was at home(And the 3 times they tried to ship, they did it at completely random times, first time 1 PM, second time 11 AM, third time 3 PM). I contacted Amazon and they said they can't do anything about it. So I'm boycotting Amazon, since they absolutely refuse to let me choose the shipper, even if I pay additional money from my pocket.

Enough of that. Is there anywhere else with a decent selection of books I can buy from in Canada that lets me ship by Canada Post?
12 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 3, 2003
1978 posts
261 upvotes
Toronto
Hi, and welcome to the site.

I also use Book Depository and Better World Books. Shipping is free (regardless of amount), but slow. However, each package arrived via Canada Post.
Deal Addict
Jan 4, 2009
2481 posts
125 upvotes
Toronto
is there a minimum amount to get free shipping with book depository? I keep hearing good things about them
Apr 14, 2010
405 posts
134 upvotes
Chapters ships with Canada post. I believe there is free shipping if you spend $30. Also, if you look around online you can usually find a coupon code for $5 off if you spend over $25.
[OP]
Feb 18, 2011
3 posts
Quebec Trois-Riviere…
Thanks for the tips

After complaining to Amazon about the UPS shipping for the second time(replied), they sent me an e-mail back saying they were sending another parcel express shipping. Oh boy, looks like their employees can't even read :( .

Asked them to cancel that other parcel.
Deal Addict