Tags:
None
Deal Fanatic
Jun 19, 2009
6135 posts
1981 upvotes
Scarborough

Buying stocks at 52 week highs

What is your philosophy on buying stocks near/currently at their 52 Week highs? There's an index ETF that I'm holding off from purchasing because it is at an all time high (VCE for those of you who are interested). Should I just buy it or should I wait for it to drop a little before buying? I'm a long term investor so I will not be selling it anytime soon.

Thanks for the advice :)
32 replies
Deal Guru
Mar 20, 2003
10476 posts
656 upvotes
New-Brunswick
Hrmmm, I am not good at playing the stock market but at a 52 week high, I would think you'd want short a stock, not buy into it (though I don't think you can do that on ETFs- I'm just using that for an example)... The DOW and S&P are nearly at all time highs so you have to wonder how much higher they can go before you see a correction.
Deal Addict
Apr 30, 2012
3252 posts
2873 upvotes
Montreal
I wish I bought a ton more back in mid-November, it got a serious beating. Now's not the time to buy. Maybe buy AAPL and IMG.
Mar 19, 2010
918 posts
106 upvotes
Markham
Feneant wrote: The DOW and S&P are nearly at all time highs so you have to wonder how much higher they can go before you see a correction.
The DOW and S&P are back to where they were in 1999. Most companies balance sheets are in a great shape today.
Deal Addict
Sep 30, 2008
1277 posts
311 upvotes
SkimGuy wrote: What is your philosophy on buying stocks near/currently at their 52 Week highs? Should I just buy it or should I wait for it to drop a little before buying? I'm a long term investor so I will not be selling it anytime soon.