Automotive

Can bad gas cause spark plugs to fail (weeks later)?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 1st, 2019 12:21 pm
Feb 16, 2019
6 posts
2 upvotes

Can bad gas cause spark plugs to fail (weeks later)?

Greetings,

TL;DR: Mother charged $700 because dealership claims the gas she filled up two weeks prior was bad and damaged the spark plugs, so they had to be replaced (instead of being replaced under the extended warranty). Does that sound plausible?

I'm not a car mechanic, enthusiast (unless we're talking about Tesla, sorry), or have much knowledge beyond a grade 9 automotive class, hence I'm reaching out to this community and hoping you can set me on the right direction.

Earlier this month my mother's car (a 2016 Hyundia Elantra) wouldn't start (weeks after it's last gas fill up, though driven daily). She had the car towed to the manufacturer's service centre (dealership), they corrected the issue and left her with a bill for $700+, due to "bad gas". My mother paid extra for an extended parts warranty with the manufacturer when she bought the car, so when my wife and I heard about this, something didn't smell right. When we used to drive an ICE car, taking it into the manufacturer service centre we would almost always come out with a $700 bill after each check up, so we're intimately familiar with the scams these places pull (or at least the unreliability of parts in an ICE car).

We took a look today at the receipt and service detail that was provided by technicians that outlines the troubleshooting done, and determination of cause to try and understand how they came to the determination that it was bad gas, this is word for word what it says:
Tech Cause: verified, crank no start. remove plugs and clean and dry off. still no start. ground out plug and crank, spark is week. gds diag. pending codes for mis-fire #1 and #2. change out oil. and replace plugs. veh. now starts. veh. has contaminated fuel. needs tank emptied. and new gas.
Tech Comments: no start diag. 1.5