Computers & Electronics

Can I use this cheap multimeter for household and auto?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 11th, 2019 7:12 pm
[OP]
Jun 4, 2013
401 posts
25 upvotes
Oakville

Can I use this cheap multimeter for household and auto?

So on Wednesday my washer breaks. I was going to use a multimeter on the motor or something. Was going through process of elimination and lid switch and pump don't appear to be the problem. Was about to watch the youtube tutorial on this when my main water shutoff valve started leaking on Saturday and that turned into a four hour ordeal because pavers hired by previous homeowner buried the city watermain valve under the driveway.

Now today my oven breaks. No matter what I set it to, it just preheats forever and definitely won't reach the temp it is set to. I will check the bottom element for problems and one of those could be continuity as I have seen on youtube so far.

I have never used a multimeter before, and since this is $20 and my bro in law has a much more serious one for his work and I can always borrow his, I thought I'd get a cheap one for myself in case I need to test something quickly. Would this do the job for a noob like me for simple household things?

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01ISA ... _qh_dp_hza

Thanks.
35 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 2, 2005
1117 posts
154 upvotes
Yes it will be fine around the house and if you blow it up by connecting it wrong you're only out 20$.
Deal Addict
Feb 14, 2009
1191 posts
442 upvotes
metaman wrote:
Jan 6th, 2019 7:25 pm
So on Wednesday my washer breaks. I was going to use a multimeter on the motor or something. Was going through process of elimination and lid switch and pump don't appear to be the problem. Was about to watch the youtube tutorial on this when my main water shutoff valve started leaking on Saturday and that turned into a four hour ordeal because pavers hired by previous homeowner buried the city watermain valve under the driveway.