Automotive

Can police do speedtraps wherever they please?

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 23rd, 2011 7:42 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Guru
Aug 14, 2007
12807 posts
3837 upvotes
--

Can police do speedtraps wherever they please?

I'm just asking because i only see them in the same places. Never anywhere different. Knock on wood I've been driving for 6 years and never gotten a single ticket ;) .
15 replies
Banned
Apr 13, 2009
3874 posts
120 upvotes
Toronto
XtremeModder wrote: I'm just asking because i only see them in the same places. Never anywhere different. Knock on wood I've been driving for 6 years and never gotten a single ticket ;) .
They can probably set up wherever they want, but will most likely set up shop where they know they'll nail the greatest amount of speeders in the least amount of time. They may also set up in school zones where they can give you heftier fines.
May 27, 2007
16088 posts
4769 upvotes
Toronto
XtremeModder wrote: I'm just asking because i only see them in the same places. Never anywhere different. Knock on wood I've been driving for 6 years and never gotten a single ticket ;) .

Yes. Anywhere within their jurisdiction (division).
But usually every officer has his/her favourite/frequent spot.
RedFlagDeals.com
See an inappropriate post? Use the "Report Post" function to alert Moderators!
Deal Guru
Aug 14, 2007
12807 posts
3837 upvotes
--
It seems odd to me that in my eyes theyre clearly visible (mind you I drive at night mostly so the reflection of my headlights hits their reflective markings).

I see people pulled over all the time and i just think to myself that the person must be looking at the floor of their car to not see the cop clearly there. But that's me...
Deal Addict
Mar 8, 2010
3553 posts
87 upvotes
Why wouldn't they be able so set a speed trap anywhere they want? :confused:
RFD OT: Serious answers to stupid questions.
RFD Definition of 'troll': Someone whose opinion you don't like.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 2, 2006
6354 posts
1013 upvotes