Entrepreneurship & Small Business

Can someone tell me how exactly taxes , hst, is paid back to the government?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 16th, 2019 9:21 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 17, 2010
1499 posts
189 upvotes

Can someone tell me how exactly taxes , hst, is paid back to the government?

so bit of a vague question and obviously a little more difficult without setting forth personal info but here it goes.

so one of my family members has a small business.

his accountant said he owed around 19,000 in taxes. he pays through those remittence voucher things but by the end of the year the accoundant said it wasnt enough and owes practically half more.

im not an expert nor is he and his accoundant is away till next week so im hoping i can maybe help clear things up.

HSt is 13%, so assuming you had sales/revnue of 50,000 for example, im assuming the amount owed as taxes would be 6500 on that amount.

in ordere to pay 19,000 in taxes to the revnue aaency, his sales (assuming everything was taxed) would be around 150,000. but hes no where NEAR that.

Am I missing something or are there other factors invovled?

i know information still a bit vague but if any of you have more experience with this that can shed some light, that would be great or even provide an example.
22 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 5, 2009
2809 posts
922 upvotes
Newmarket
There is also income tax, back taxes, penalties...….

Other than that just wait for the accountant to come back and ask for explanation.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 17, 2010
1499 posts
189 upvotes
Homerhomer wrote:
Mar 7th, 2019 8:49 pm
There is also income tax, back taxes, penalties...….

Other than that just wait for the accountant to come back and ask for explanation.
income tax is paid separately. our family pays on time so not sure....:/

didnt want to sit the whole weekend pondering. thats alot of money
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 17, 2010
1499 posts
189 upvotes
s7yl3x wrote:
Mar 7th, 2019 9:11 pm
An important fact is missing.
what would that be?