Canada Post - GAT Test Soon !

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 18th, 2014 10:12 am
Tags:
None
Aug 26, 2006
27 posts

Canada Post - GAT Test Soon !

I got an offer for the Postal Clerk position with Canada Post, pending the passing of the GAT (General Abilities Test). What can I expect and how long is it? Is this thing easy, hard, impossible?

I'm a student in university and as of now, the position is "on call temporary." I'm taking summer school and full time next school year, so would they need part time or just looking for full time in the end with a 3 month probationary period for now?

I looked up the pay rate in other provinces under 'Canada Post > Careers' where it displays the pay rate and it is $22.00 - $25.00/hr, although it doesn't display anything for the Toronto position.

This would really be an amazing job with a university student, not slaving for $8.75 at Starbucks.
38 replies
May 1, 2008
93 posts
7 upvotes
Are you in the toronto area. I was a temp on call casual clerk. really boring job and i was in with some particularly nasty co-workers. If your female it helps, they tend to favor females there. Hopefully you'll will get in with some good workers. Also I didn't care much for the union there.

Lets hope your experience will be better. I basically stopped going to work the atmosphere was so bad there.
Jun 8, 2007
803 posts
74 upvotes
Mississauga
You won't have any problems with the GAT if you're in university. Literally half of the people in the room that took the test with me failed, but to give you perspective I'm a journalism grad and passed with flying colours.

It has multiple sections to it... Basic math, reading comprehension, short term memory (memorizing 4 columns with 5 addresses and listing which addy's were in which column), an "is the address on the left identical to the address on the right" and I think a "what's the next number in the sequence" section.