[Canadian Tire] [CT] Mastercraft 128 Piece Socket Set *$40* Ends Sunday Aug 13

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 13th, 2017 2:39 pm
Jun 25, 2009
975 posts
200 upvotes
SizzleChest wrote:
Aug 12th, 2017 8:56 pm
It's just a BS marketing line that really has no logic at all. Others that come to mind - Coors saying their beer is "cold certified" (what does that even mean?) and Jeep calling their vehicles "trail rated" (a marketing term that they created for their vehicles only)

I hate marketing/advertising.

replace the word "mastercrap" with any other brand that has outsourced its labour to China and the statement holds true.
The country is not the issue, it's the "cheap" part, meaning low quality. Many high quality items are produced in China, those tools are not some of them.

When they were made in the usa, the quality was much better.
Jan 8, 2017
11 posts
8 upvotes
Does the quality really matter on a 40$ socket set? I'm a professional tech and I'd buy these every single time over a "high quality" snap on set that's 10x the price for a 1/4 of the tools. "Quality" for a socket is a placebo, they all turn the same nut.
Dec 26, 2016
9 posts
4 upvotes
Thanks OP. Popped into CT earlier today and picked up this set, you always need these tools. It looks like they have several other kits from Mastercraft on sale as well. I also picked up a screwdriver set for $10 and both are a great deal in my opinion. The screwdrivers have magnetic tips which is helpful and the 128 piece kit has a lot of goodies for the price. Played with the ratchet and sockets out of the box, seemed like decent quality and what you'd expect from CT mastercraft products. I mean, if you're doing basic stuff it will definitely serve its purpose but for something more heavy duty you may need an impact set.
Images
  • IMG_7497.JPG
  • IMG_7504.JPG
Deal Addict
Jan 18, 2013
1091 posts
168 upvotes
froesesp wrote:
Aug 12th, 2017 8:52 pm