Shopping Discussion

Canadian Tire gift cards no longer accepted at gas bar?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 11th, 2016 10:51 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 20, 2007
2241 posts
1364 upvotes
Prince George

Canadian Tire gift cards no longer accepted at gas bar?

I went to use a gift card at the CT gas bar today as I have been doing for many months from the 10% SDM promos. The pump rejected it with a message about the card only being valid inside. Inside, the cashier said they had recently changed their policy to not accept gift cards for gas. She did accept my gift card for this one transaction but said it was not the policy going forward. It's a sad day for me.

Can anyone else confirm this?
Last edited by cheaper_than_cheap on Nov 4th, 2016 11:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
19 replies
Jun 5, 2016
394 posts
398 upvotes
Can gift cards be returned?
Gift Cards are not eligible for returns or refunds. They are only redeemable for merchandise and service at any Canadian Tire retail store or gas bar, and may not be redeemed for cash or applied as payment on any Canadian Tire credit account.
http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/customer- ... cards.html

Still says you can on the website
Deal Addict
May 28, 2009
1172 posts
775 upvotes
Belleville
http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/gift-cards.html

"Canadian Tire's Gift Cards are the perfect gift for everyone. With no fees and no expiry date, buy a gift card online and give someone the gift of choice. Whether it's for a special occasion or just because, choose from $10, $25, $50, and $100 gift card denominations. Canadian Tire Gift Cards are redeemable at over 460 stores, 400 service centres and over 250 gas bars across Canada. For more information please visit our Gift Card Customer Service page."

Maybe that Gas Bar is no longer accepting them.

Got me scared for a second. I have over $2000 in gift cards picking them at at 10% off
Deal Fanatic
Feb 15, 2006
8470 posts
2844 upvotes
Toronto