• May 27th, 2019 3:41 pm
Tags:
Deal Addict
Aug 15, 2018
1373 posts
1854 upvotes

Career change: from HR --> Construction/Estimating

Hi everyone,

I would be glad to hear from people who have done a career change in their 30's or beyond.

Basically I have a HR Degree with 8 years HR experience. I work for a large construction company and have developed an interest in the cost estimating role (quantity surveying) - but have no experience in this field.

Of course I would need to get appropriate education before changing my job and as far as I know, these are my options:

- Diploma or Degree: full time only so this means 2 to 4 years without income. Unfortunately not an option for me.
- College Certificate: continuing learning, evening classes so I can study and have an income in the same time.

Several colleges in the Toronto area propose construction management degrees as well as cost estimating certificates.

My main concern is: what are the chances someone gets a job when changing his/her career and showing only a college certificate as education?
I am not from Canada so not very familiar with the education system yet. While I understand a certificate prepares you for a new job, I am concerned it might not be high enough.

I would welcome anyone who could share their thoughts or experience.

Thank you!
Last edited by mattnew on May 23rd, 2019 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
17 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
41788 posts
30051 upvotes
Center of Universe
mattnew wrote: Hi everyone,

I would be glad to hear from people who have done a career change in their 30's or beyond.

Basically I have a HR Degree with 8 years experience. I work for a large construction company and have developed an interest in the cost estimating role (quantity surveying).

Of course I would need to get appropriate education before changing my job and as far as I know, these are my options: