Students

Career help after graduating with a Biochemistry (Looking for post-grad program)

[OP]
Nov 23, 2008
150 posts
1 upvote

Career help after graduating with a Biochemistry (Looking for post-grad program)

Hello everyone!

I am a 4th year BioChem student that is graduating this year from York (will be doing my thesis research this year so I can have a better understanding of how working in a lab will be like).
I'm looking to apply to post-grad schools, but am slightly worried about my GPA being low.

I would like to work in a hospital/health care industry, or further my education being more specifically tailored to such settings.
I have looked into programs at Michener (MLT, Resp therapy, Ultrasound, etc...)
I will talk to admissions maybe with my currents grades/ transcript to see what my chances are.

I'm wondering in terms of extra-curriculars, are there any volunteer/part-time/internship opportunities that will really help with my applications?
What sort of other careers/ post-grads program should I be applying/looking into?
2 replies
Jan 8, 2010
115 posts
29 upvotes
q1w2e3 wrote:
Sep 20th, 2018 7:52 pm
Hello everyone!

I am a 4th year BioChem student that is graduating this year from York (will be doing my thesis research this year so I can have a better understanding of how working in a lab will be like).
I'm looking to apply to post-grad schools, but am slightly worried about my GPA being low.

I would like to work in a hospital/health care industry, or further my education being more specifically tailored to such settings.
I have looked into programs at Michener (MLT, Resp therapy, Ultrasound, etc...)
I will talk to admissions maybe with my currents grades/ transcript to see what my chances are.

I'm wondering in terms of extra-curriculars, are there any volunteer/part-time/internship opportunities that will really help with my applications?
What sort of other careers/ post-grads program should I be applying/looking into?