• Last Updated:
  • Jul 20th, 2017 5:25 am
[OP]
Jan 1, 2017
126 posts
60 upvotes

Career as a Product Manager - Ask Me Anything

Hi Everyone,

I have been a Product Manager for 10+ years. Ask me anything you'd like to learn about this career.

Thanks,
ProductGuy
45 replies
[OP]
Jan 1, 2017
126 posts
60 upvotes
I have worked in financial services and banking in product roles.
Deal Addict
May 18, 2015
1111 posts
259 upvotes
Ottawa,Ont
ProductGuy wrote:
Jan 2nd, 2017 10:24 am
Hi Everyone,

I have been a Product Manager for 10+ years. Ask me anything you'd like to learn about this career.

Thanks,
ProductGuy
What was your career progression to reach your current position and what were the approximate salaries along the way?
[OP]
Jan 1, 2017
126 posts
60 upvotes
nikels21 wrote:
Jan 2nd, 2017 7:07 pm
What was your career progression to reach your current position and what were the approximate salaries along the way?
I was one of the few lucky ones who got into product management almost straight out of university. My university degree was in Economics. I learned everything about product from on the job training and courses my employer sent me to. In terms of positions and base salary see below:
- Product Analyst - $60k
- Product Manager - $75-85k
- Senior Product Manager - $90+k

Keep in mind that I have always been at the top salary range for my positions based on my experience, skills and ability to sell myself during interviews. The average product manager in financial services and banking makes about 10% less.

Product managers in software companies make about 10-20% more than product managers in financial services and banking.
Deal Addict
Dec 8, 2007
4456 posts
751 upvotes
1) What are your hours typically like? What is 'busy' for you?
2) What does a product manager do in your sector? Do you 'own' a P&L?
3) What is the progression FROM your current role - where do Product Managers go in your sector (a Bank)?