Entrepreneurship & Small Business

Carrying insurance as a Corporation - What are the costs and who sells this?

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 19th, 2019 8:23 am
[OP]
Deal Guru
Dec 23, 2003
13008 posts
1679 upvotes
Toronto

Carrying insurance as a Corporation - What are the costs and who sells this?

I am an IT Consultant and am looking to Incorporate. The Agency that I am getting a contract with stated that I need to carry a minimum of $500K liability insurance and have them named on the certificate as the placement agency. Could you let me know how much this costs as well as where can I get this insurance from?

Thanks
Last edited by hightech on Apr 16th, 2019 6:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
18 replies
Deal Fanatic
Mar 23, 2008
8437 posts
5070 upvotes
Edmonton
Find out what specifically your “agency” wants you to have, and then pick up the phone and call some insurance brokers.

C
[OP]
Deal Guru
Dec 23, 2003
13008 posts
1679 upvotes
Toronto
CNeufeld wrote:
Apr 16th, 2019 1:04 am
Find out what specifically your “agency” wants you to have, and then pick up the phone and call some insurance brokers.

C
According to the contract:

Certificate of Insurance

a. “XXXX” must be named on the certificate as the placement agency;

b. You must obtain a minimum of $500,000 in liability coverage;

c. The coverage must be active from the day you start your contract and the coverage must extend for the full duration of the assignment;

d. You are free to choose any provider you deem suitable;

e. You need insurance because as an independent contractor, you are operating under your own business and a business needs insurance;

f. Many of our contractors choose to use ProLink. We have no financial incentive to recommend ProLink, but through our research, we’ve found that they are a cost effective provider at about $30 per month
Deal Addict
Apr 5, 2013
3546 posts
978 upvotes
markham
hightech wrote:
Apr 16th, 2019 6:34 am

Certificate of Insurance