Pets

Which cat food do you guys recommend for cat?

• Last Updated:
  • May 17th, 2019 1:09 pm
Jul 24, 2018
135 posts
71 upvotes
Hamilton
osuman wrote:
Nov 26th, 2018 10:57 pm
How would you react if someone decides to put a horse on meat only diet?
Horses are herbivores with specialized digestive systems.

Dogs (and humans) are omnivores.

Cats are considered by science to be obligate carnivores, with specialized digestive systems like horses. Cats can, however, benefit from pre-digested plant matter from the intestines of the prey they eat.

I'm not a scientist or a veterinarian, and I can only go by the information available to search at my fingertips. I encourage everyone with an interest to do the same.
Deal Addict
Jul 20, 2016
1130 posts
713 upvotes
Toronto
jimmysack wrote:
Sep 10th, 2018 11:18 am
well how much does raw food cost? where can i buy it
Not sure if you started, but just in case, and if someone else is looking after.

I've managed to transition my cat from kibble to full wet - which was rather easy, once I found the right protein (which was a bit of a pain, I got like 50 cans on black friday of Salmon, but she would only eat chicken and duck lol).
She's been eating canned food like I'm eating a steak. She's literally cleans the plate.

Day before yesterday I decided to buy some small, not so expensive frozen raw food. I went to my local pet valu (to return those 50 cans of Salmon canned food...) and picked up a 2lb Chicken Dinner container. it was like 6-7 bucks; and as per calculators, she should eat around 80g per day. So around 11 days worth of food for like $7;

Now. I picked that just to test, but I won't be buying more of it. Firstly because it's a "dinner" lots of other stuff that aren't meat (Apples, Carrots, Organic Kale, Organic Spinach, Organic Blueberries, Organic Cranberries, Organic Kelp); and then - the container isn't that great. They're very fragile, they had a few of them broken at the store;