• Nov 23rd, 2011 4:56 pm
Tags:
None
Nov 6, 2011
42 posts
2 upvotes
MARKHAM

CGA or CMA for my situation?

I graduated with a software engineering degree few years ago and now looking forward to change career into accounting.

With my software engineering background, would it be better for me to do CGA? Since they have "information technology" option(MS2, MU1).

Also would it be easier to fulfill job experience requirement for CGA than CMA? CMA requires management accounting experience, so a "business analyst" position may not satisfy CMA job experience requirement? Correct me if I'm wrong.
12 replies
Jul 29, 2009
198 posts
2 upvotes
vctr288 wrote:
Nov 9th, 2011 2:35 pm
I graduated with a software engineering degree few years ago and now looking forward to change career into accounting.

With my software engineering background, would it be better for me to do CGA? Since they have "information technology" option(MS2, MU1).

Also would it be easier to fulfill job experience requirement for CGA than CMA? CMA requires management accounting experience, so a "business analyst" position may not satisfy CMA job experience requirement? Correct me if I'm wrong.

CMA is pretty lienant on their work reuqirments. I am in year two of the SLP i think a business analsyst woudl fufill most of the rreuqirments., you just fill out a form.
Aug 8, 2011
697 posts
40 upvotes
SCARBOROUGH
Ya i agree with the above poster.CMA is much more lenient when it comes to work experience CGA is such a pain when it comes to work experience and is the hardest of all accounting designations when it comes to work experience. Someone with accounting designation must sign off on your experience compared to none for CMA. I regret doing CGA because of that work experience is pissing me and lot of people off
Deal Fanatic
Aug 10, 2011
8464 posts
1306 upvotes
Somewhere
Become a florist.

There are too many accountants as it is. :(
Jul 1, 2008
190 posts
11 upvotes