Changing Sole Proprietorship to Incorporation

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 11th, 2017 10:57 am
[OP]
May 21, 2016
19 posts

Changing Sole Proprietorship to Incorporation

Hi,

I am a sole proprietor of a small business, I could not open an incorporation at the first time because I was a temporary resident. Now, as I am a landed immigrant in Canada, I was wondering is there any benefit to turn my business into incorporation. If yes, can I convert my sole proprietorship into incorporation? Or do I have to open a new incorporation from the scratch? Do I need a different bank account for this? Your insight on this matter is highly appreciated.

Thank you for reading.
9 replies
Jun 25, 2011
279 posts
101 upvotes
Alberta
The incorporation will be only beneficial if you are making significant profit. The reason is when you are not incorporated and you are startup you can write off your expenses to your business income but once you incorporate then you have restrictions to apply business loss toward the income. For example, capital loss can only be applied to capital gains, business loss toward income etc. If you have assets such as equipment, machineries buildings and inventory, then you can choose sec 85 rollovers to transfer your assets to your newly formed corporation without any tax implication. You generally don't need a new bank account but it is advisable to keep separate bank account for business purpose for accounting and audit purposes.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 18, 2002
6846 posts
543 upvotes
Toronto
albertaguy wrote:
Oct 8th, 2017 11:06 pm