• Oct 28th, 2011 6:34 am
Tags:
None
Sep 18, 2011
6 posts
OTTAWA

Cheap Nespresso machine –*Where to buy?

Hi,

I'm quite new to Canada and therefore I wanted to ask you where I could get a Nespresso machine for a reasonable price (the simplest solution will do; that is, the manual one)?

I'm used to paying like 130 bucks including tax in my home country, so that's why I am SLIGHTLY surprised by the Canadian prices...

Thanks in advance!

Matthias
17 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 19, 2010
1171 posts
102 upvotes
Vancouver
softdown3 wrote:
Sep 19th, 2011 3:37 pm
Hi,

I'm quite new to Canada and therefore I wanted to ask you where I could get a Nespresso machine for a reasonable price (the simplest solution will do; that is, the manual one)?

I'm used to paying like 130 bucks including tax in my home country, so that's why I am SLIGHTLY surprised by the Canadian prices...

Thanks in advance!

Matthias

Why not just buy an actual espresso maker? The cost would be very minimal compared to the amount of money you are going to be spending for those individual pods that they use. Nothing beats and espresso made from freshly ground beans :)
[OP]
Sep 18, 2011
6 posts
OTTAWA
That's probably the best solution...

Do you have any suggestions? I'll be studying here till April 2012, so it should be something I could leave behind without a bad conscience about the money spent on it.
Deal Expert
Aug 9, 2004
21622 posts
257 upvotes
Mississauga
jumbojones wrote:
Sep 19th, 2011 8:12 pm
What about the MyPressi and real beans?

So instead of buying nespresso cups, he'd have to buy gas cartridges for an otherwise extremely limited device i.e. cant even foam milk? Doesnt seem like much of an improvement to me.
My guess is Matthias comes from europe where Nespresso is huge.
Their cafe/retail store on Champs d'elysee in Paris is a fantastic example of branding/marketing. The one we have in the basement of The Bay in Toronto is a joke...not much more than a glossy kiosk.