Health & Wellness

The Cheapest dispensing fee? Any altenatives?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 17th, 2018 3:58 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Jan 31, 2016
112 posts
15 upvotes
Arva, ON

The Cheapest dispensing fee? Any altenatives?

Hi,

I've got this prescription for the medication. The doctor said, it's very cheap. It's gonna be $5 or $6. But then when I went to Shoppers Drug Mart and asked about the cost, She said it's $15. Why? Because there's dispensing fee $11. It was very shocking for me since I'm fairly new to this. I've been seeing many obnoxious fees in Canada but this is by far the worst. So, I decide to check the fee at another store which is Medicine Shoppe. They said it's $13. They charge $9 for dispensing fee. I need to take this medication for 6 month but I'm not in a hurry, so I was thinking maybe I should check some other options. I'm going to the pharmacy at Food Basic but I would like to know if the dispensing fees are cheaper at grocery stores? Or, Is there any official online medication dispensary? Please let me know. Thanks.
21 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 6, 2015
1313 posts
702 upvotes
If you can get to a Costco (no membership required, just tell the door minder that you are using the professional services of the pharmacy), they charge $3 or so.
Deal Addict
Jan 18, 2013
1684 posts
511 upvotes
B.C.
I haven't looked at the dispensing fee for ages but I believe the fee at my local Costco pharmacy is $4.49

I think Walmart might be the next cheapest, or at least they were when I last looked.

You'll also just have to phone local pharmacies and ask what their dispensing fee is...
[OP]
Jan 31, 2016
112 posts
15 upvotes
Arva, ON
Thanks guys. I've been a member of Costco but I didn't even know they have a pharmacy at Costco. lol
Deal Fanatic
Sep 16, 2004
7725 posts
1030 upvotes
Toronto
Fortinos and Metro also had reasonable dispensing fees when I used them.
This was a very long time ago though.
Walmart and Costco for sure though.
Sep 9, 2017
917 posts
604 upvotes
Winnipeg