Careers

Chemical engineering is a very bad option in Ontario.

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 19th, 2017 2:13 am
Nov 21, 2016
91 posts
78 upvotes
Yes if he had taken that 50k / year job at silicon valley he would be basically volunteering for experience. (Honestly not a bad idea). Silicon valley has one of the highest cost of living in the world.

Corporations view graduates the same way a farmer views animals: something to fatten up and feed off; a utilitarian and amoral approach.

If it serves them to build up you up, they will build you up, if it serves them to tear you down, they tear you down. To them you are a resource, nothing more, nothing less.
Banned
Dec 5, 2015
2038 posts
405 upvotes
Concord, ON
engnr40 wrote:
Jan 1st, 2017 12:00 am
Hang in there OP. I am a civil engineering graduate in Ontario and the job market is not good for civil either. I went to a middle-tier University in Ontario and have about 3 years of Canadian work experience. The job market is extremely saturated and the Canadian grads have to compete with foreign engineers with decades of experience. I think Canada should really help out the Canadian engineering graduates and make Canadian grads the number one priority. I read in the news that Canada wants to bring in 300,000 immigrants next year. At least 80% of these immigrants will have to settle for menial jobs. First of all, I think they should restrict the engineering enrollment in Canadian Universities and only graduate a "specific" amount of students. Secondly, they should make co-op programs mandatory in every engineering program at every University. Thirdly, they need to revamp the immigration system so that Canadian grads do not suffer. It makes me depressed knowing that some of my University friends who even completed theirs Masters degree in Canada couldn't find a job while at the same time I know foreign trained engineers working as senior engineering managers.......The only thing keeping me motivated right now is Ontario's 160 Billi