• Last Updated:
  • Oct 12th, 2017 6:36 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Apr 10, 2012
709 posts
265 upvotes

Choosing which camera to take on a trip

So I've been stuck contemplating which camera I should take with me on my month long trip. I really don't want to purchase a new camera and I have a few options at my disposal which would be sufficient in my view.

So a little bit about me: I'm a hobbyist photographer. I love taking photos and have a decent eye for spotting nice opportunities, but I'm not trying to compete for a National Geographic award anytime soon.

Trip conundrum: I'm travelling for over a month and will be spending the majority of it in S.E. Asia. The big handicap: I'm travelling ultra light (carry-on only; for several reasons).

Trouble choosing between these:

- Canon T1i (I have the lens kit (18-55mm), the staple 50mm, and a Tamron 55-200mm. I also have a speedlite flash. If I take this, would probably end up taking all the goodies too.
- Canon SX700hs. This is a travel zoom lens that my parents happen to own and I can take along.
- [don't shoot me, but] Only my smartphone, the Galaxy S7. Yes, it's blasphemy to throw this in, but it takes adequate pictures and is definitely the lightest.

I've already committed to taking my GoPro Hero 3+ Black. This barely weighs anything and is necessary in any wet weather and adventure travelling.

So I'm stuck choosing whether I should take my dated DSLR, the ultra-zoom-but-small-sensor SX700, or just stick with my smartphone.
I have no problem taking the SX700 along with my smartphone, but outside of the great optical zoom, I don't know how much the image quality improvement justifies the added weight.

That being said, I don't know if I've done enough comparison between any of the cameras so I would appreciate it if anyone could shed some light on which camera I should take with me.

Is the image quality on the SX700 going to blow the S7 out of the water?
Is the SX700 a lot worst than my T1i in terms of image quality?