• Last Updated:
  • Jan 24th, 2009 2:24 pm
Tags:
None
Jul 30, 2008
648 posts
1 upvote

Claiming Rent on Tax Return

Officially, my mom pays the rent via her cheques. However, I contribute to the rent, albeit in an unorthodox way. This year, I gave her money to contribute for last year's rent. Is there a way to claim this on my 2008 tax return, given that I didn't give it to her until the year after, even though it was meant for my portion of 2008 rent?
14 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 12, 2002
3914 posts
1 upvote
I think if your Mom gives you a receipt for the amount of rent that you paid for 2008, that would be okay. Just attach the receipt to your 2008 tax return when you file it. But it's important that your Mom deducts your portion of the rent from the rent she paid in 2008. I'm not a tax expert or anything, but I can't see why it wouldn't be okay.
My DVDs for sale

"I want you to step back from the guacamole dip! I want you to put the chicken fingers down!"

U2 360 Tour in Vancouver, 2 Tickets for sale http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/pair ... -a-805801/
Dec 6, 2005
210 posts
You can't claim rent or mortgage payments on your tax return unless you have a home office/business and even then its only a percentage.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 12, 2003
7793 posts
36 upvotes
waterhat wrote:
Jan 22nd, 2009 7:03 am
You can't claim rent or mortgage payments on your tax return unless you have a home office/business and even then its only a percentage.
wrong.

You can claim rent as long as you have receipts for rent (in case you are audited) and you make I believe less than 42k per year.

You can only claim 20% of that total though for Ontario Credits
Mar 24, 2007
628 posts
11 upvotes
waterhat wrote:
Jan 22nd, 2009 7:03 am
You can claim rent to get Ontario tax credits.

You may or may not be ok with CRA depending on whether they review your file and then whose desk you happen to land on.

This is from CRA:

[INDENT]Your occupancy cost cannot include amounts such as: