Personal Finance

COLLECTIONS AND COLLECTION AGENTS: Ask me anything! (Official RFD Thread)

[OP]
Mar 8, 2009
612 posts
18 upvotes

COLLECTIONS AND COLLECTION AGENTS: Ask me anything! (Official RFD Thread)

HI RFD!

I work in the collection industry. Have for the last 7 (EDIT: 11) years. Multiple agencies, clients and creditors.

If I can be of any assistance in:

-Debunking collection myths
-Helping with collection issues
-Answering common questions
-Saving you money

please let me know. I am here to answer anything you can throw my way from credit bureaus, to stopping live/automated calls even how to use/abuse credit.

Lets have at it.
1775 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 28, 2004
1758 posts
172 upvotes
Burlington
Do we have any laws protecting when/how many times/what can be said here in Canada or based on province? (Like the US's Federal Fair Debt act).

Are collectors required to show written proof the debt is owed to the person when asked without calling anymore?
Oct 29, 2009
263 posts
5 upvotes
do you check the credit of ppl you are trying to collect from?
[OP]
Mar 8, 2009
612 posts
18 upvotes
budfrogs wrote:
Nov 4th, 2009 9:41 pm
Do we have any laws protecting when/how many times/what can be said here in Canada or based on province? (Like the US's Federal Fair Debt act).

When: depends on Provence.
How many:3x weekly attempts or contacts, unless specified on a weekly basis.
What is said: Collectors a limited to what they can say via
-Collection Act
-Specific Client workplan*