Careers

Computer Science or Finance in British Columbia?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 26th, 2013 4:32 am
Tags:
None

Poll: Which is a better career in BC?

• Total votes: 18. You have voted on this poll.
Computer Science

56%
Finance

44%
Mar 24, 2007
430 posts
11 upvotes

Computer Science or Finance in British Columbia?

I am relocating to BC. I have a Bachelor's degree from UofT (Physics) and I have been taking actuarial exam for a career change to insurance/financial industry. I have passed one so far.

I did some searching and can't find a single actuary job in the whole province of BC. While SFU are bumping out 30 or so Actuarial science degree every year. It looks like a pretty big red flag to me.

I like Math/finance but I like warm winter more, I am not coming back to Toronto.

The IT industry seems to be doing well in BC. I don't have programming background so I don't know if I will like it or not. It will require a new degree though.

How is the IT/Finace job market in BC? Do you think it is worth the try?
29 replies
Aug 22, 2008
805 posts
26 upvotes
If you want to work in finance, I don't think investing X years in passing all the exams is worth your time. And you're right, the supply of act sci grads and the very limited demand for them is just scary. It doesn't help that you're in BC, since act sci seems to be a favourite among international students...

A physics degree from UofT puts you in a very good position for both finance and software/IT roles. You don't need a degree in CS or ECE, as long as you have the skillsets required, so taking some fundamental CS theory courses at UBC is a great idea, along with learning some languages on your own.
Banned
Feb 15, 2008
26318 posts
3155 upvotes
Calgary
Elisa.woods wrote:
May 1st, 2012 2:46 pm
How is the IT/Finace job market in BC? Do you think it is worth the try?