Personal Finance

Contract position with an American company: what status for CRA?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 11th, 2018 3:26 pm
[OP]
Nov 7, 2018
2 posts

Contract position with an American company: what status for CRA?

I'm being offered a position by an American company. It would be full-time, in their office and they decide my shifts. They told me that since it's in Canada, they will not offer me a permanent position but a 1 year contract, renewable. They say it's because their Canada team is too small for now to have HR there (it's a startup that has just few employees in a rented office so far in Canada).
They said as a contractor, I won't have benefits, just national holidays off.
Their staff in Canada told me what they do is basically they just fill their taxes by using an extra form for contract work (T2125 I suppose, but they didn't tell me) and that they pay CRA around 20% of the gross income they receive.
The company does payment from an American account and have people in Canada sign a W8 BEN form (so they don't pay taxes in the US?)

I haven't accepted the offer yet because this all contract thing is unclear.
  • From my understanding, CRA would consider me an employee in such case, because the company would impose the schedule and provide material (laptop, desk in the office, etc). Yet the person from their Toronto office told me she doesn't get a T4 "because it's a contract".
    How do you fill as an employee with CRA without a T4?
  • Also, since it's an American company and they get a W8 BEN signed, wouldn't it be considered foreign income when filling taxes?
  • I know there is a tax treaty agreement between US and Canada that basically says taxes have to be paid to either of the two countries, so with the W8 BEN, taxes should be paid to Canada, but how?