Tags:
None
Deal Fanatic
Apr 23, 2009
5161 posts
708 upvotes
South of Ottawa

Cord cutting - Thank you RFD!

After getting rid of my cable subscription last year, I now have access to everything I want/need, including live tv. I'm by no means a tech expert (I know enough to be dangerous) but at the end of the day it was fairly easy to set up and the cost is minimal.

A big thank you to all the rfd users that have helped along the way :)
195 replies
Deal Guru
Jul 5, 2001
10109 posts
12727 upvotes
Toronto
Beachdown wrote: After getting rid of my cable subscription last year, I now have access to everything I want/need, including live tv. I'm by no means a tech expert (I know enough to be dangerous) but at the end of the day it was fairly easy to set up and the cost is minimal.

We've been cable free for 2 years now and don't really miss anything...partly because we are limited in time nowadays. Sickbeard, Antenna and MLB.TV have pretty much everything covered.
Deal Addict
Dec 21, 2011
3518 posts
689 upvotes
Allenford
Can you give details on your set up? I don't even know enough to be dangerous but I know I hate our fricking Bell tv bill every month. Husbands condition will just be that whatever it is has to be hi def.

Good to know it's worked for you without being a techy person overly much, and that you can get live tv.
Deal Addict
Aug 11, 2008
3396 posts
648 upvotes
416 REAL T-D0T not 9…
I actually went BACK to Bell TV. Cutting the cord sounds (and is somewhat) inviting to do. Not even bring the legality of using torrents into the equation, I can't be arsed to deal with the hassles of downloading, streaming, or otherwise not being able to pick up a remote control and veg out, with my limited time. Not to mention sports. The 30 second delay and sometimes choppy faux high def from the streaming services were deal breakers for me. Especially now that I can get the French feeds for the Habs through Centre Ice from Bell.