Corporate Lawyer vs. Chartered Accountant

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 8th, 2009 2:40 pm
Tags:
None
Sep 6, 2006
17 posts

Corporate Lawyer vs. Chartered Accountant

Who would you say has more job opportunities in the business field, corporate lawyers or chartered accountants? CA's not only work in accounting positions, but many other fields in a business (managerial, director etc.); however, it seems a corporate lawyer only has the option of working in the legal department of a company. As well, not every company has a legal department, whereas every company has a finance/accounting department. I'm interested in knowing what options are available for corporate lawyer who decide not to work with law firms? Is it only Government, in-house at some places?
9 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 10, 2008
1402 posts
140 upvotes
Vancouver
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure it's far easier to find a job as a CA than it is as a Corporate Lawyer.

Lawyers get paid more though if you're one of those lucky people who finish at the top 1% of their class.

Also, you get to work and make money while doing your CA... have to forego 3 years of income and get into debt to become a lawyer.

Again I'm no expert but that's what I think.
Deal Fanatic
Apr 16, 2006
6241 posts
708 upvotes
veDette wrote: Who would you say has more job opportunities in the business field, corporate lawyers or chartered accountants? CA's not only work in accounting positions, but many other fields in a business (managerial, director etc.); however, it seems a corporate lawyer only has the option of working in the legal department of a company. As well, not every company has a legal department, whereas every company has a finance/accounting department. I'm interested in knowing what options are available for corporate lawyer who decide not to work with law firms? Is it only Government, in-house at some places?