• Last Updated:
  • Sep 2nd, 2014 12:51 am
[OP]
Nov 18, 2010
9 posts
BC

Corporate Taxes and Year-End

I have been working with my father for a few years and learning the ropes on running the business. One aspect of the business which doesn't seem accurate to me is his year end tax returns.

He does his year end tax returns by giving the accountant all of his company bank statements at the end of the year from which his accountant calculates the income and balance statements. Since his accountant does the company year-end based solely on the bank statements, his corporate profits show as 0 each year and consequently, the retained earnings are also 0 and he has never paid corporate taxes and he claims that most companies operate like this. Do other companies operate their year end statements like this? This is a business that buys, stocks and sells inventory. The inventory amount is increasing by a small amount each year so assuming all of the other numbers remain static, the increase in inventory should equal his current earnings and therefore, he would have to pay corporate tax on that amount correct? Please let me know if my understanding is inaccurate.

Thanks!
10 replies
Aug 17, 2011
448 posts
139 upvotes
CALGARY
Likely what is happening is the accountant is "bonus-ing down" any taxable income in the corp via an accrued bonus payable at year end to your father. The result is that the taxable income for the corporation is nil for the year, and as such the taxes payable are nil. However, there is no free lunch: your father winds up paying personal income tax on the bonus received instead.

The scenario isn't necessarily good or bad, just one way of handling corporate tax filings.
[OP]
Nov 18, 2010
9 posts
BC