• Last Updated:
  • Nov 20th, 2017 8:59 pm
Tags:
None
Nov 25, 2007
182 posts
31 upvotes
Toronto
Thanks everyone in this thread. It's been very informative! I'm a newbie on investment, and I'm serioiusly considering the CCP portfolio, but I have a quick question:

I have a $330K mortgage (locked rate at 2.11% until June 2018), and I have $350K cash (currently sitting in a saving account with 2.5% interest rate). Should I pay off the $330K mortgage first, or should I just put the entire $350K saving into the CCP portfolio? My friend told me to pay off the mortgage first before any investment, but my thinking is, if I can easily get more than 2.11% return from my CCP investment, why would I bother paying off my mortgage in a hurry?

What do you think?

Thanks everyone!
Mar 11, 2011
565 posts
161 upvotes
Toronto
Pay off the mortgage, if only for the peace of mind. After tax, you are earning nowhere near 2.5%, so the present setup is costing you. Also, after 9 years without a serious correction, the market is way overvalued and due for a correction.
Deal Addict
Aug 1, 2007
1284 posts
136 upvotes
raptorsfans wrote:
Oct 27th, 2017 10:59 am
Thanks everyone in this thread. It's been very informative! I'm a newbie on investment, and I'm serioiusly considering the CCP portfolio, but I have a quick question:

I have a $330K mortgage (locked rate at 2.11% until June 2018), and I have $350K cash (currently sitting in a saving account with 2.5% interest rate). Should I pay off the $330K mortgage first, or should I just put the entire $350K saving into the CCP portfolio? My friend told me to pay off the mortgage first before any investment, but my thinking is, if I can easily get more than 2.11% return from my CCP investment, why would I bother paying off my mortgage in a hurry?

What do you think?

Thanks everyone!