Tags:
None
May 3, 2015
153 posts
70 upvotes
Mobhatia91 wrote:
Oct 29th, 2017 2:41 pm
Hello everyone,

A great forum with lots to read on. I am a newbie on investment and would like to learn more and hopefully enjoy a financially stable life.

I currently have a TFSA and an RRSP though I do not make as much to contribute to both. I have about 30k in my TFSA but it is making close to nothing. I have been looking at the questrade TFSA account and thinking to opening on and buying ETFs such as XIC (Canadian market), VUN (CND hedged US market), VEE (emerging markets) and ZAG (BMO bonds) etc.
My questions are,
Is there a difference of keeping the money in TFSA or RRSP?
What about holding US traded ETFs vs TSX efts that track the US market?
What about dividend and taxes of holding the money in one account vs the other?

If anyone can shed some light on these would be very helpful and much appreciated

Thank you
Welcome!

1) Yes there is a difference. A quick summary:

TFSA = Any returns that you earn in this account will be tax free once you withdraw it. You can liquidate and withdraw this money at any time with no penalties (less any early withdrawal fees associated with the funds you select). However, whatever you do withdraw, that amount can't be put back into the account until the next calendar year (read up more on TFSAs for clarification on this).