Tags:
None
Apr 14, 2017
918 posts
417 upvotes
DT Calgary
CaptChaos wrote:
Jan 2nd, 2019 11:43 pm
I have been using the Couch Potato strategy for my RRSP for 6-7 years. It fits well with my lack of time, motivation and skill to research and invest in individual stocks.

Returns (XIRR) as of December 31, 2018
1yr -2.0%
2 yrs 4.33%
3 yrs 4.89%
5 yrs 7.10%

I have been using Mawer Balanced for TFSA as it has a more modest value and it has roughly tracked CP returns. A good choice for people that only want one fund to deal with. I will consider switching to VGRO when larger.
treva84 wrote:
Jan 9th, 2019 7:14 am
Uhhh are you aware of the long term returns of index investing? Sorry but can you show me the savings account where over decades you get 7-9% annualized?
So in 6-7 years this poster has actually lost money, and recently many others in this thread have had marginal returns. Whereas, if it was a high-interest savings account he would be earning roughly 3% per year. You cannot use the past several decades as an indication of future market returns. All I'm getting at is this isn't anything special, and requires more than just passive thought to realize the returns of the past.
Deal Addict
Aug 4, 2014
1850 posts
1099 upvotes
Toronto, ON
FreshCo wrote:
Jan 9th, 2019 6:57 pm
So in 6-7 years this poster has actually lost money
The poster lost money only in 1 (one) last year, 2018 - as did most of us. Do you know how 2-3-5 year XIRR returns are calculated - and what they mean? Or you expect higher than HISA returns by NEVER having a losing year? :)
Deal Addict
Mar 8, 2013
2448 posts
1169 upvotes
FreshCo wrote:
... All I'm getting at is this isn't anything special, and requires more than just passive thought to realize the returns of the past.
In English, please.
Deal Addict
Aug 4, 2014
1850 posts
1099 upvotes
Toronto, ON
akaManny wrote:
Jan 9th, 2019 7:22 pm
In English, please.
“Buy pot and prosper”? :)
FreshCo wrote:
Jan 8th, 2019 10:41 pm