Tags:
None
[OP]
Jan 20, 2007
742 posts
12 upvotes

Couch Potato Portfolio - Switching from eFunds to ETF

Hey all,

I've been contributing to my couch potato portfolio for 3 years, have accumulated a significant amoung and am now I would like to convert the index funds to ETF in order to benefit from lower MER.

However, the MER of ETFs doesnt seem much lower than eFunds, when I look at the model portfolios from the canadian couch potato,. 0.37% vs 0.42% -- 50$ a year on 100 000$

Am I missing something?

Also, is 10$/ trade at TD Waterhouse reasonnable? This requires 50k$ household assets.

Finally, are better/cheaper ETFs in the pipelines that would justify waiting?

Cheers!
10 replies
Aug 13, 2007
198 posts
17 upvotes
Montreal
morglum82 wrote:
Jun 10th, 2011 3:09 pm
0.37% vs 0.42% -- 5$ a year on 100 000$

Your math is a bit off, it's 50$ per year for 100 000$ of assets. Apart from that, you're not missing anything. The transaction costs are the reason why it is usually better to stay with the eFunds until you have a significant amount accumulated. Also keep in mind that you will probably want to keep any new contribution in eFunds until you have enough again to justify the costs of switching. It will probably be best to combine new contributions and rebalancing to minimize the number of transactions...
Deal Addict
Oct 4, 2009
1871 posts
664 upvotes
Montreal
morglum82 wrote:
Jun 10th, 2011 3:09 pm
Hey all,

I've been contributing to my couch potato portfolio for 3 years, have accumulated a significant amoung and am now I would like to convert the index funds to ETF in order to benefit from lower MER.

However, the MER of ETFs doesnt seem much lower than eFunds, when I look at the model portfolios from the canadian couch potato,. 0.37% vs 0.42% -- 5$ a year on 100 000$

Am I missing something?

Also, is 10$/ trade at TD Waterhouse reasonnable? This requires 50k$ household assets.

Finally, are better/cheaper ETFs in the pipelines that would justify waiting?