Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Apr 11, 2008
5442 posts
446 upvotes

CPP vs. DB Pensions

Has anybody done any calculation comparing CPP to a typical DB pension?

It seems to me that CPP which pays 0.6% of the income/year served with 5% contribution rate sucks. Am I missing something?
78 replies
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Apr 11, 2008
5442 posts
446 upvotes
Conquistador wrote:
Oct 9th, 2018 12:14 am
Are you trying to be serious here because this is one of the most ridiculous questions I've seen of late. There is absolutely no comparison between CPP and a defined benefit pension plan. Please troll somewhere else.
Huh? Care to explain? I am not a pension expert, but it seems to be a DB pension plan.

"A defined benefit pension plan is a type of pension plan in which an employer/sponsor promises a specified pension payment (CPP does), lump-sum (or combination thereof) on retirement that is predetermined by a formula based on the employee's earnings history (CPP does), tenure of service and age (CPP does), rather than depending directly on individual investment returns. (CPP does not) "
Deal Addict
Jan 5, 2003
1335 posts
351 upvotes
CPP is a DB pension, it's just a horrible one that everyone is forced to take part in. And this isn't really controversial :P
Deal Addict
Aug 29, 2011
3321 posts
1037 upvotes
Mississauga
Horrible in that it isn’t making much money or horrible that all workers are forced to contribute to it?

Annual rate of return over the past 10 years has been 8%. That seems pretty decent to me.
Deal Addict
Feb 19, 2017
1225 posts
645 upvotes
Ya CPP is pretty much just theft it's so crappy. And when you die you cannot give it to your heirs either so it's just consumed by the government like tax dollars. Would be nice to be able to have my CPP to spend or save as I desire.
RFD is love. RFD is life. I wish I had an RFDer for a wife.
Deal Expert
May 10, 2005
30808 posts
5662 upvotes
Ottawa
LoANeal wrote:
Oct 9th, 2018 8:52 am