• Jun 17th, 2019 8:29 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Mar 26, 2019
82 posts
25 upvotes

Create credit

Hi , I am a student do not have any credit background or so, do not have a credit card. Are they any tips or suggestions for creating a credit.?
14 replies
Deal Addict
Sep 24, 2018
1527 posts
757 upvotes
Capital One Secured or Guaranteed low rate card :)
Sep 16, 2012
415 posts
166 upvotes
Scarborough
Going to pretty much repeat what I've said in prior threads, as a fellow uni student:

I started off with the BMO SPC card as it is the best student card- hands down. Very good chances of approval, SPC benefits, decent accelerator bonus, and 1% across everything. Highly recommend.

In regards to building good credit specifically as a student, we have the good fortune of having the ability for our credit scores to jump double digits in just a matter of months, but the flip side is also true- every inquiry and over utilization also can wreak havoc on your credit report.

For perspective, I was pulling mid 700s on both Equifax and TransUnion just with 3-4 months of credit history because I was responsible, always paid my bills on time, kept under 30% utilization for my CL, and only limited myself to one card. If you want to spend more than 35%, that's fine- just make sure to pay off your credit card balance to under 35% before the billing cycle ends. BMO lets you prepay your bill in order to reduce your balance ahead of time.

Follow these rules and your credit score will be sky high in no time.

I only started to apply for better cards I knew I would be using well into adulthood (fingers crossed they aren't devalued) after 9 months of credit history: the PCO WE for partner store groceries, and Rogers WE for everything else.