Entrepreneurship & Small Business

Creating an online store? Happy to answer any questions!

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 8th, 2020 1:05 pm
Aug 9, 2013
29 posts
14 upvotes
Markham

Creating an online store? Happy to answer any questions!

I thought it would be fun to start this thread and see what's on everyone's mind.

I own a development agency (won't be promoting it here) and I've helped dozens of small businesses get online since the pandemic. If you're thinking of going online or starting a side hustle, post your questions in the thread and I can answer them as they come. Everything is on the table! In terms of personal experience, I am a software developer by trade.
3 replies
Deal Fanatic
Dec 16, 2015
5405 posts
5751 upvotes
Distance: 50 Metres
How to get a million dollar $ sales?
To the moon
Aug 9, 2013
29 posts
14 upvotes
Markham
> How to get a million dollar $ sales?

That's a tricky one. I think you definitely need to have a really great product though. To be fair, depending on the business, making a million dollars in sales might not be as hard as it sounds — it'll be making 1 million dollars in profit that would be hard. For example, I've worked with a makeup dealer that averages around $100 in sales per customer. By that math, they only need to make 10000 sales before they have had 1 million dollars in transactions take place. Now... how much would they make? Probably much less than the 1 million dollars (maybe around 30 - 40% profit after shipping).

If you do want to get started, I think you could try out dropshipping though. It's relatively risk-free and easy to setup. The hardest part about dropshipping would be driving that initial traffic to your site while your SEO (search engine optimization) catches up — so either you need to be really good with ad platforms, have a really high converting and high margins product or be super creative and go viral.
May 29, 2004
559 posts
175 upvotes