• Jul 23rd, 2008 4:25 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Fanatic
Jan 5, 2006
5149 posts
416 upvotes
Toronto
Sl300 wrote: Im on the way out so im going to get straight to the point sorry if I sound harsh

1. lose the borders, its just silly
2. you dont need an IS lens, learn how to 'breath and hold your camera against your body
3. work on composition
4. you want our eyes to jump to the 'interestingness of your photo
5. lay off the heavy pp

other wise great pics, keep it up :)
No problem; thanks for the honest advice. I am a newbie to dSLR or even modern cameras; so I definately have alot to learn.
Deal Addict
Oct 1, 2003
2235 posts
71 upvotes
In my opinion, your first post of photos aren't very good based on bad composition. It looks like you were trying but I don't think any of the photos are bang on.

In many of your photos the horizon line is slanted, and it doesn't seem like it's enough of a slant to be a style thing with the exception of the breakdancer image. I can tell that some of the photos with the docking bays in the background, that the actual road surface slants so that photo is technically straight but still it doesn't look straight. You need to be aware of stuff like this when taking the photo.

Also, your subject matter - I suggest trying to try and do it in an interesting way. You can try taking tight close ups, which you have done with some of the G35 photos. But go further, take close ups of the details of the car, try being more abstract with the shaps and lines of the cars. Find more interesting clean backgrounds, which it looks like you are trying to do, but trying to make a G35 look sexy with townhomes in the backgound doesn't really work for me. Try taking photos of the cars in motion, that could give you some interesting results. Also, try playing with light and reflection. Try and be more creative with your subject matter - play with it and have fun with it. Don't just take a flat picture of it.